Setting Overwrite Behavior

By default, users can overwrite the entire history of a document by saving an identically named document in the same place. This is a default Microsoft Office behavior, but you can prevent it using an admin setting.

If you disable overwriting in this way, publishing a document with the same name in the same place as a Jive-linked Office document will save the newer document as a new version of the original document. Users can recover the original by accessing the previous version.

To ensure users can't overwrite documents:

  1. In the Admin Console, click System > Settings > Jive for Office > Advanced
  2. Select Disable option to overwrite document history when trying to save a certain document in a location where a document by the same name already exists.