Configuring Sharing

You can enable and disable content sharing from the Admin Console.

The sharing feature allows users to alert others about interesting content items. Shared content notifications are private and appear only in the Inbox of the receiver(s).

Fastpath: Admin Console: System > Settings > Direct Messages and Sharing

You can require that users must be connected to send direct messages or shares to each other. In external communities, this helps to prevent spammers from spamming community users and is enabled by default in external communities (and disabled by default in internal communities). If you need certain users to be able to override this setting, for example, your HR Director to be able to send direct messages or shares with users they aren't connected to, set up a user override; go to Permissions > Home Page Permissions, select user override and assign the user "DM/Sharing admin" permission.