Configuring Jive Genius Recommender Service

Note: The Recommender depends on a successful connection to the Jive-hosted Recommender service that's established during installation. You can find prerequisites and best practices for connecting here.

You can enable or disable the Jive Genius feature. You cannot choose to send specific types of activities and not others.

To enable the Jive Genius Recommender Service (it is enabled by default), go to Admin Console: System > Settings > Activity Engine and select Enabled in the Enable Recommender Service setting.

For all new users, the Recommended for You widget will display a short notice explaining that Jive Genius is working on creating their recommendations. If you are upgrading from a previous version, all existing connections, follows, and other activities of users are processed by the Recommender engine. This allows it to capture previous activity (default is 30 days before the upgrade), which it then uses to make recommendations.

Disabling Jive Genius Recommender Service

The Jive Genius functionality was introduced in Jive 5.0 and is a core feature of the platform. You can enable or disable the Recommender Service. You cannot choose to send specific types of activities and not others. Disabling the Recommender Service may be useful for communities with extreme security concerns, such as government entities, that do not want even encrypted behavioral information sent to and analyzed by Jive Software's Recommender Service. For security information, see Jive Genius Recommender Service Security and Privacy.

To disable the Jive Genius Recommender Service go to Admin Console: System > Settings > Activity Engine and select Disabled in the Enable Recommender Service setting.

If you disable the Recommender Service, your users will not be able to see the Recommended for You widget, the Jive Genius Browse recommendations, or their Trending and Popular content results on the Activity tab of their profile. They will still be able to see the Trending People and Trending Content widgets, but the results displayed there will be based on a basic popularity algorithm (stored locally) that measures activity over the last seven days. Trending People and Trending Content will not poll or update without a manual browser refresh.