Setting Global Blog Permissions

You can set global blog permissions in the Admin Console on the Blog Permissions page.

Fastpath: Admin Console: Permissions > Blog Permissions
  1. On the page, under Groups with access, assign permissions to user groups:
    • To assign permissions to a user group not yet added:
      1. Click Add group.
      2. Enter the name of the user group to add.
      3. Click the Select Permissions button.
      4. In the dialog box, select the permissions you want to apply for the user group.
    • To edit permissions for a user group already added:
      1. Locate the group in the list.
      2. Next to its name, click edit permissions.
      3. In the dialog box, select the permissions you want to apply for the user group.
  2. Click the Set Permissions button.

Creating User Overrides for Blogs

Create a user override to grant a particular set of permissions to an individual. You might need to create an override if:
  • A person requires a particular set of permissions for an area, but isn't (and shouldn't be) a member of a group to which you've already assigned permissions for the area.
  • A person is a member of a group to which you've assigned permissions for an area, but they require a different set of permissions than they've received as a member of the group -- in other words, they're an exception to the rule. For example, you might want to separately define their permissions in order to enhance or limit their access in the area.
Use the following steps to create a user override on the permissions page you're editing:
  1. Under User Overrides, click Create a user override.
  2. In the box, start typing the name of the user for whom you want to set the override. Click the popup that displays the user's name.
  3. Click the Set override button to view the permissions you can set.
  4. In the permissions dialog for the person you selected, select and clear check boxes as needed. In the end you want the list of checked items to reflect the permissions the person should have. Note that you merely clear a check box to remove a permission -- there's no need to explicitly revoke the permission.
  5. Click Set Permissions to save the override you've created.