Group Permissions in Jive and SharePoint

Linked SharePoint sites are always based on a Jive space or group. Their permissions reflect both Jive place behavior and user permissions within SharePoint: a user who doesn't have access in Jive won't be able to access the linked site in SharePoint.

Admins should belong to the Full Control principal defined in the Jive-SharePoint connection, and will have full permissions to all Jive-linked SharePoint sites; all other users should belong to the Everyone principal.

For non-admins, you can expect the following behavior from the different types of Jive groups and their linked SharePoint sites:

Open Group
The linked SharePoint Site is given the same name as the Jive group. Any Jive user has read and write permissions for the SharePoint site.
Members Only Group
The linked SharePoint Site will have the same name as the Jive group. Jive group members have read and write permissions for the SharePoint site. All Jive users who aren't members will have read permissions, which means they will see the web parts, but won't be able to add comments, reply, or perform any other Jive social activity from the SharePoint site.
Private Group
The linked SharePoint site will have the same name as the Jive group. Jive group members are given read and write permissions for the SharePoint site. Non-members won't see the Jive web parts.
Secret Group
The linked SharePoint site will be named "JiveGroup" with a group ID number. Jive group members are given read and write permissions for the SharePoint site. Non-members won't see the Jive Action or Recent Activity web parts, and they won't know the group exists.