Marking an uploaded file or a document as Reserved indicates that someone is currently
editing it, so other users won't edit it until the Reserved badge is removed. It does not actually lock the
file or document.
The Reserved badge provides important information about file status for anyone who
can't use Jive for Office to edit and merge uploaded files, for example Mac users.
It can also be used to warn users off a published Jive native document that's not
ready to be edited by other people yet. (Note that if you want to hide an
in-progress Jive document before publishing it, you can just save it as a draft and
share it with anyone you want to.)
When an author or editor marks a file Reserved, anyone can see who reserved the file and contact the person if
they're unsure whether it's OK to proceed with editing. Anyone with the rights to
edit a file or document also has rights to mark it as Reserved. When someone reserves a file,
the author and anyone who has already edited the document will receive an Inbox
notification. You can filter content to find reserved documents, too.
This feature has a slightly different meaning for uploaded files and Jive
For uploaded documents, Mark as Reserved warns users who don't use Jive for Office that publishing a new version could overwrite and invalidate a version someone is working on locally. (Windows users with Jive for Office have live merge capability and don't need this feature as much.) Currently, marking a file as Reserved will not lock the document or prevent
uploading another version. But any another user who clicks
Edit with the intention of uploading a new file
will see a message pointing out that the file is currently reserved for
Jive native documents already provide an indicator when someone has started editing a
document. already exists. (However, note the lock on the document while someone is editing only lasts ten
minutes, and after that it's possible to edit the document and overwrite
another user's changes.) Mark as Reserved replaces the need to put "WIP" or
another indicator in the title when a document isn't in a state where you'd
like other users to jump in and edit it. In other words, it shows an author
or editor's intention to keep working on the document undisturbed until the
next time that author publishes it.
How to Reserve an Item
To mark a file or document as Reserved, just use the Actions menu to Mark as Reserved. This won't lock the document, but it will alert other users you are planning to update the item and they should wait or contact you before editing.