Content Visibility Options

You can limit to selected people the visibility of content that you create, or hide it completely from other people. Here is a reference of the visibility options of all content types.

Note: Externally-facing communities (those serving customers, partners, and vendors), do not have the Personal Content (Hidden) feature.

Your Personal Content

Content Item Description Are streams updated? To set the item as Personal: To find the item later:
Documents and Uploaded Documents When you publish a document as Hidden, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you. You will see a stream update when you publish, but other users will not. Before you publish the document, set its visibility option to Hidden. You might want to read How Can I Create a Document Just for Myself? Go to Content > Authored > Documents and then select Filter by personal content. The dark lock icon next to the document indicates it is limited to you.
External Bookmarks Your private bookmarks are stored in your personal container and are private to you. You will see a stream update when you save the bookmark, but other users will not. Go to Pencil icon > Bookmark and paste in the external URL. Then, select Make this bookmark private before you Save it. Click in the Spotlight Search box and select Bookmarked > Show all bookmarks. In the top navigation bar, filter by External URL. The dark lock icon next to the bookmark indicates it is limited to you.
Personal Tasks (tasks you assign to yourself) You can assign yourself personal tasks so that no one else can see them. You will see a stream update when you add or edit the task, but other users will not. Go to Pencil icon > Task and select Project > None (personal task). Go to Actions > Tasks. In the Project drop-down menu, select Personal.

Content Limited to Specific People

Content Item Description Are streams updated? To limit the item to Specific People: To find the item later:
Documents and Uploaded Documents When you publish a document limited to Specific People, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you and the other people you designated. You and the other Specific People will a stream update when you publish, but other users will not. Before you publish the document, set its visibility option to Specific People. Go to Content > Authored > Documents and then select Filter by personal content. The light lock icon next to the document indicates it is limited to you and the other people you designated.
Discussions When you publish a discussion limited to Specific People, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you and the other people you designated. You and the other Specific People will a stream update when you publish, but other users will not. Before you post the discussion, set its visibility option to Specific People. Go to Content > Authored > Discussions and then select Filter by personal content. The light lock icon next to the item indicates it is limited to you and the other people you designated.
Messages You can send one or more other users a private message. Messages are listed in the Inbox. They do not appear in streams. Go to Pencil icon > Message and select the person(s) to whom you want to send the message. Go to Inbox. In the Filter drop-down menu, select Messages.

Content You Cannot Hide