|Administering the Community / Managing User Accounts and User Groups|
You can deactivate or delete a user account when you want to remove the person's presence from the community.
Deactivating a user account removes their access but keeps their content in the system. When you deactivate someone's account, Jive will replace their former avatar with a blank avatar; the word "Deactivated" will appear on their profile. The person will no longer be able to log in or receive notifications, but their content will remain viewable in the application.
Deleting a person's user account also deletes the community content they've contributed. This is a permanent action that, depending on the user's amount of activity, can have an impact on content throughout the community. If you're not sure whether you want to delete the account, consider banning or deactivating the user instead.
To delete or deactivate a user account: