The license you received when you purchased Jive enables the
features included in your purchase, keeping your community running and available to your
users. The terms of the license are based on your community's allowed usage (number of
page views or users, for example), the duration of your license, and the modules your
You can view your license type, version, capacity, current usage (how many users you're
currently supporting), and license creation and expiration dates in the Admin Console.
Fastpath: Admin Console: System > Management >
On the Overview tab you'll find:
Basic license information, such as your license ID, the number of members in
your server cluster, and so on.
A list of the application components you're licensed to use, along with details
about when their licenses are due to expire, how much of your quota for each
you've used, and so on. You can click a component's title to view more
information about it, including its usage.
Important messages about lapses in compliance with license terms.
Resolving License-Related Issues
Licenses expiration reminders and warnings for the core application and modules occur
by default as follows:
30-day friendly reminder - 30 days before the license expiration date, a notification is sent to the email inbox
of all system administrators.
Expiration notice - after the license has expired, Jive
displays a notice for all system administrators in the Admin Console as well as the community
warning that the license has expired (end users will not see this notice). In addition, a notification is sent to the email inbox of all system administrators.
Shutdown warning - 30 days after the license expiration date, Jive
displays a red banner for all system administrators and root space administrators in the Admin Console and the community
warning that the site will be shut down in 15 days due to the expired license (end users will not see this notice). In addition, a
notification is sent to the email inbox of all system administrators and root space administrators.
Note: The Jive core
application and any modules that you have purchased and added on have different
licensing time frames. You will receive a number of notifications that the license
has expired before the core application or module will be disabled. In the case of a
module, only the module will be disabled, not the core application.
Your community might be partially disabled for the following reasons (after
repeated attempts to warn you):
Your subscription has expired.
Your community's usage has exceeded what your license allows. The Jive application
warns you when the usage level allowed by your license is
being exceeded. In extreme cases, the community can be partially disabled by Jive
Software. This disabling will cause the community to be inaccessible to all users
but administrators, who will still be able to resolve the licensing issue.
Jive Software remotely locked the community.
Through regular reporting, you manage your license by validating your community's
usage against the usage level your license allows. With each report, you receive an
updated license confirmation key.
Note: A report is required within the first 14 days of starting the application for the
Data Included in a License Report
The license report includes the following usage information collected by the application:
Number of page views (total count for all time).
Number of users who have logged into the system at least once.
Total number of users.
Date and time of the report.
The following is included for each entitlement (licenseable unit of
functionality), including modules, centers, features, or marketplaces.
Number of registered users related to the entitlement.
Total number of users related to the entitlement.
Number of page views related to the entitlement.
Your community health information would include the following:
This information is intended to provide aggregate calendar monthly
values, so each measure is over the calendar month within which the
activity took place.
A count of the distinct users who have triggered an activity event (such
as reading content, creating content, replying/commenting, updating
their status, editing their profile, and so on).
The content points for the month for the entire instance, which is a
point sum of discussions, documents, and blog posts.
The collaboration points for the month for the entire instance, which is
a point sum of comments, tasks, and replies to threads.