Creating a New Place Template

You can create a new place template based on a currently configured place using the settings under Manage > Save as new template. Only edited templates have the option of being saved as new ones, and pages are not saved with the new template.

You need to have rights to a place to save it as a template.
If you want to create a new Place Template, you can base one on the tiles included in an existing place you've configured and saved. For example, if you create a group using the General Collaboration template, but add and delete some tiles to include different information in that group, you can use Save as new template to save the layout of the tiles as a Place Template. Then you can assign that template to other places you create.
Note: If you have Community Manager rights, you can save Place Templates as Community templates so that other people in the community can use them. If you're not, only you will see your saved templates in Your Templates.

A template saves the type, order, and layout of tiles for a place. It does not save the configuration of those tiles. If you've created lists of links using the Helpful Links tile, for example, and saved a template based on that place, places with that template assigned will have the Helpful Links tile in the same position. But they will not include the link list you created. This is true even if you later reassign that template to the same group.

To create a template based on an existing place:

  1. Go to the Activity page for your place and click the gear icon > Configure activity page.
    Note: You can also click the gear icon > Settings or click the info icon > Edit. The Edit page will appear. You can make changes to this information now if you want, but it's not required. Click OK.
  2. Change the tiles until the layout looks the way you want.
  3. If you've made revisions to the current place's template, click Save to save them to the current template.
    Note: Remember pages you add will not be saved with the template.
  4. In the Manage menu, click Save as new template and specify a name and description for the new template. You'll only see this option if you have customized the current template.
  5. Provide a name and some tags for the new template. Tags will be used to populate the Similar Places tile.
  6. Click Save.
  7. If you want to apply the new template to a place, click the gear icon > Settings, and then select the new template from Browse Templates > Your Templates to select and apply it.