Creating a Jive Project

Follow these steps to create a project. After that, you can create some tasks for the project.

  1. Click Pencil icon > Project.
  2. Select a location for the project. Projects are associated with a place, such as a space or group. The place you choose will determine who can see and collaborate on the project.
  3. Give your project an identifying name.
  4. Enter a brief description to appear in the user interface.
  5. Select a project start date and the end date. Use the target date for completing the project.
  6. Change the project owner, if necessary. The default owner is the person creating the project.
  7. Select tags that can be used to find this project.
  8. If available, you can click Advanced Options. By default, your project uses an Activity page as its main page with the option to add more custom pages. We recommend using an Activity page because it can be displayed on mobile devices, and because it's more friendly to streaming content.
    Note: If widgets are enabled in your community (not common), you may want to include an Overview page with widgets. You do this by clicking Advanced Options and choosing one of the two options that include an Overview page. If you select Activity + Overview Page, you'll need to specify which page will be the landing page for the place.

    If you use the checkpoint and status functionality for tracking project tasks, you will probably want to stick with the old-style Overview page rather than updating to the Place Template format. The widgets in the Overview page more effectively support Projects at this time.

  9. Click Create Project.
  10. You can apply a place template to this project.
    Note: The default template is Team Collaboration.
  11. Click Create Project.
  12. To add a place image or change the banner, click gear icon > Configure activity page then click Place Image or Banner Design to configure the visual presentation of your place.

Deleting a Project

When you delete a project, you remove the entire project, including its content, from the system. You cannot undo a project deletion.
  1. Go to the project's Overview page and click gear icon > Delete project in the upper right corner.
  2. Confirm the project's deletion by clicking Delete.