Group Creation Options

Creating a group always starts with clicking Group in the Create menu, but it helps to understand the options that can help your group do what you want it to.

CAUTION:
If you're using an externally-facing community (those that typically involve customers, vendors, and other external audiences), the Create menu will be off by default. A Community Manager can enable it from System > Settings > Home Page. If you want to keep the Create menu off, people who have group creation permissions can create groups from the end user interface by going to Places and clicking the create place options in the left sidebar.

When widgets are disabled in your community, which is the default, you are unable to choose an Overview or Activity page. In the following table, the asterisks (*) note when this advanced option for place navigation might be unavailable. For deciding whether to use an Overview or Activity page, you should also see Adding an Overview Page.

I want to. . . You should. . . Can I change this later?
Collaborate in private by limiting who can see what's in my group, or even who can see that my group exists. Choose a Private or Secret (also known as Private: Unlisted) group type during the initial setup. You can change this setting later. See Types of Groups. Yes. Keep in mind that changing this setting changes the visibility setting for all the group's content.
Design a landing page that's optimized for a specific work purpose.* Choose Activity + Pages or Activity + Overview from the Advanced Options during the initial setup, then choose and configure a Place Template customized for the kind of work you want to do. See Place Template Reference. Place Templates only apply to Activity pages, and not to Overview pages. Yes, but if you start with Activity + Pages and change the setting later so Overview is enabled, any custom pages you created will be invisible.
Design a landing page with widgets (but no additional pages)* Choose Overview or Activity + Overview from the Advanced Options during setup, and fill out a widget layout under gear icon > Overview Page from the group page. Yes.
Make more custom pages in the place for displaying information, not just a landing page.* Choose Activity + Pages from the Advanced Options during your setup, and then add the pages to your place afterward. See Adding a Custom Page to a Place. Yes, but if you change the setting later so Overview is enabled, any custom pages you created will be invisible.
Integrate external streams from Facebook, Chatter, or any other apps your community admin has enabled.* Choose Activity + Pages or Activity + Overview from the Advanced Options during the initial setup, then click Add a stream integration when configuring the Activity page. Yes, but keep in mind that some external stream types cannot be disconnected from the group except via a Support call.
Limit the kinds of content that can be included in this place. During place setup, after you preview the group, edit the Features and Activity settings. Yes.
Store this place's binary documents outside Jive, for example in Box or SharePoint. During place setup, after you preview the topic, edit the Features and Activity settings. You'll only see options other than "No external storage" if your community admin has enabled another external storage type. See Groups with Box Storage. Yes, but if the place is later disconnected from external storage, users will see references to documents that they can't access from Jive anymore.
Make this group a place for collaborating with people who aren't members of the community. Make the group Private or Secret, and select Externally Accessible. See What Are External Groups? Yes. Changing the Externally Accessible setting will remove access by non-members, but their contributions will stay in the group.
Make sure people can find the place. Add tags and/or categories in the About settings of your place. Yes. Just remove the tags or categories.