How Do I Create a Group?

Creating a group enables you to set up an area where like-minded people can put their heads together and share information on the group subject. You must have special permissions to create a group, which are set by your community administrator.

Before you create a group, you may want to consider the purpose of the group, what kind of information needs to be included, who will participate, and how people who need to know about it will find it. The way you name the group and the tags you assign it are different ways you can make it available to people who might be interested. See the Group Creation Options topic for ideas about the important choices you need to make when deciding on a group setup.

  1. Click Pencil iconGroup.
  2. Give your group an identifying name. This name shows up at the top of the group page and at the end of the URL that links to the group. (You can change the URL by clicking the Edit link.) You won't be able to create a group with the same name as an existing one: a green check mark next to the field indicates the name is unique.
  3. Enter a brief description to appear in the group's main page. Capture what the group's about in a way that will attract other people who might be interested. For example, your RFP Collaboration group could say "Look for the latest RFP templates and materials here."
    Note: This information will display behind the information icon Jive Info Icon and on the Overview page, if the group uses one.
  4. Choose a group type. Group types limit who can see your group and/or its content without an invitation. For more details, see Types of Groups.
  5. Select tags that can be used to find this group. Tags are words or short phrases that will help other people find your group. For example, a Sales group might use the following tags: RFPs, sales_videos, wins, and so on.
    Note: To enter multiple tags, press Enter after each word or phrase.
  6. If your community manager has set up categories to identify places while browsing, you can select some categories to associate with the place.
  7. Decide whether this group should allow its users to share and collaborate on individual pieces of group content, without granting them group access. Note that this option only works for Private groups.
  8. Decide whether this group should extend activity to "external users"--users from outside your community you'd like to collaborate with. This option only applies to Private and Private (Unlisted) groups. External contributors must be invited by a standard user who belongs to this group. Anotehr option is to allow members in a private group to share individual content items (without granting access to the group itself) using non-member content editing.
  9. Click Advanced options to expose more options. You may only see Locale because place navigation options only apply to communities with widgets enabled, which is uncommon.
    Place Navigation
    Use this setting to determine whether you want to use a tile-based Activity page, a widget-based Overview page, or both. For guidance, see Adding an Overview Page.
    Locale
    Select your default language for the group you're creating. The group will also use the time zone and date format commonly used in this region.
  10. By default, your place uses an Activity page as its main page, with the option to add more custom pages. We recommend using an Activity page because it can be displayed on mobile devices, and because it's more friendly to streaming content.
    Note: If widgets are enabled in your community (not common), you may want to include an Overview page with widgets. You do this by clicking Advanced Options and choosing one of the two options that include an Overview page. If you select Activity + Overview Page, you'll need to specify which page will be the landing page for the place.
  11. Click Create Group.
  12. If you see the Invite People to Join dialog, then add a few users who you want to invite to the group, and click Send Invitation. You only see this option for Private and secret (Private: Unlisted) groups.
  13. You can now apply a place template to this place. The default template is Team Collaboration.
  14. To add a place image or change the banner, click gear icon > Configure activity page then click Place Image or Banner Design to configure the visual presentation of your place.
  15. To enable features or set up external storage, click gear icon > Configure activity page. Click the Edit icon for the Enabled Features and Content Type tile. When it opens, you can select the types of content that your group will use. If your community manager configures external files storage, you'll also be able to select where the files in this group will be stored.
    Group Features
    Select which types of content will be available to group members, such as blog posts, documents, and so on. This list also controls what shows in the Content tab of the group, as well as what content types you can use to filter the Content tab.
    External Storage
    If your administrator has enabled a connection with an external storage provider such as Box, Dropbox, SharePoint, or Google Drive, you can set your group to synchronize document storage to that provider. Files that are uploaded to the group will be stored in external storage, rather than in Jive, and files can be added, deleted, or modified from either side.
    Note: For Box users: although you can connect an Open group to a Box folder, only community members who have joined the group will be able to see Box documents and have their comments reflected on the Box side. Because of this limitation, it's recommended to use the Box external storage only with Members Only (also known as Public: Restricted), Private, or Secret (also known as Private: Unlisted) Groups.