Sharing Content with Non-Group Members

If your private group is configured for non-member content sharing, as a group member, you can share specific documents and discussions from the group with non-group members. This is useful if you need a non-group member to help you review and edit a document or discussion. Your community administrator and/or the group's owner may need to enable this feature for you, depending on how your community is set up.

To share a document or discussion with a non-group member:
  1. Go to the document or discussion that you want to share.
  2. Click Share in the menu.
  3. Enter the name of the person you want to share the item with. (If the person is not a member of the community, you'll have the option to send them an invitation to join the community or just send them a PDF of the item.)
  4. Select Grant this user access to this content only and click OK. Or, you can send the person a PDF instead.
  5. Type a note for the person in the Message box, or do nothing if you want to use the default text provided.
  6. Click Share.
You'll see a green bar at the bottom of the screen letting you know the Share was successful. You'll also see an orange icon at the top that lets you know the item is visible to non-group members. Click the link to see which non-group members the item has been shared with.