Setting up content moderation

Content moderation in a place is enabled in three steps: selecting the place to be moderated, selecting the content types to be moderated in the place, and assigning the moderators for the place.

CAUTION:
  • You cannot moderate content created in private groups, secret (also known as private unlisted) groups, or content that has visibility limited to the author (Hidden) or specific users.
  • Make sure you understand how moderation inheritance works before you enable moderation in a place. For more information, see Moderation inheritance in groups and spaces.

Setting up global content moderation

When you enable moderation in the root container, you are enabling moderation there and in all social groups (because they are contained by the system space and inherit its moderation settings).

Fastpath: Admin Console: Spaces > Settings > Moderation Settings

Moderation requests submitted in the system container or any group are sent to global moderators. For more information, see Moderator roles. For more information on setting up permissions, see Overview of permission assignments.

To set up moderation in the root container and all groups:

  1. In the Admin Console, go to Spaces > Settings > Moderation Settings.
  2. Click Change space and select the top-level root container space.

    By default, the root space is named community.

  3. Select the check boxes for the content types you want to moderate and clear the check box for content that does not require moderation.

    The moderators will review the selected content types.

  4. Click Save changes.
  5. Go to Permissions > Space Permissions, and select the root space.
  6. Click Create a user override, select the users you want to be moderators, and then click Set exception.
  7. In the Set Exception dialog box, select User can manage space, and then select Moderate.

    You can also set a whole group as the moderators by clicking Add group, selecting the group, setting the permission level to Moderate, and then Add Group.

With moderation configured, the selected users or all users of the selected user group are able to view and moderate the specified content types for social groups.

Setting up space content moderation

When you enable moderation in a space or sub-space, you are enabling moderation in only that space or sub-space and its projects (because projects inherit the moderation settings of their container space or sub-space).

Fastpath: Admin Console: Spaces > Settings > Moderation Settings

Moderation requests submitted in the space first are sent to space moderators, if there is one, and if not, to global moderators. For more information, see Moderator roles.

To set up moderation in a space or sub-space (and its projects):

  1. In the Admin Console, go to Spaces > Settings > Moderation Settings.
  2. Click Change space and select the space you want to moderate.
  3. Select the check boxes for the content types you want to moderate and clear the check box for content that does not require moderation.

    The moderators will review the selected content types.

  4. Click Save changes.
  5. Go to Permissions > Space Permissions, and select the space for which you enabled moderation.
  6. Click Create a user override, select the users you want to be moderators, and then click Set exception.
  7. In the Set Exception dialog box, select User can manage space, and then select Moderate.

    You can also set a whole group as the moderators by clicking Add group, selecting the group, setting the permission level to Moderate, and then Add Group.

With moderation configured, the selected users or all users of the selected user group are able to view and moderate the specified content types for the specified space.

Reviewing content moderation requests

If you are a moderator for a place, you have access to a list of requests for moderation. You can view and accept or reject the content items which were sent for moderation.

In places where content moderation is enabled, the author of a piece of content sees a note explaining that their content needs to be approved by the moderator before it will be published:


Moderation message

After the author submits the post, a moderation request is sent to the Moderation queue for approval or rejection. Note that the author can still access the submitted content by going to Content > Drafts, where they can continue to make changes. As a moderator, you see only one item to moderate, no matter how many changes the author makes.


Moderation link

If there is more than one item awaiting moderation, you see a list in your Moderation queue in Inbox. For example, the list may contain content that's been reported as abusive, as well as content that's been submitted for moderation, depending on the moderation features set up by the community administrator. The following example shows a variety of items awaiting moderation:


Pending Moderation list

Notice that you can filter the listed content. That can be helpful when you've got a very long list.

To moderate a content item, click on an item and make a decision to:

  • Approve the content. This publishes the content in the community. You no longer see the item in your moderation queue.
  • Edit the content. The content editor opens for you to make changes.
  • Reject the content. This makes the content invisible to users. If you (or another moderator) reject the content, its author is notified via email. You can edit the template content of this email, as described in Editing email notification templates.

    When you reject a discussion reply, the individual reply is hidden, but its parent and children remain visible. Once something has been rejected by you or another moderator, you can still see the item in the Admin Console under Spaces > Management > Document or Discussion Management. From there, you can edit the item by clicking the pencil icon next to it and then publish the item if you've changed your mind about it. Note that all social groups are contained by the root space, so you see content items from groups on this page as well.

  • Leave a note. This note is for other moderators; it is not displayed to regular users. For example, you might explain to another moderator why you think the content should be approved or rejected. Moderator notes are not preserved after the content has left the moderation queue.