Content visibility reference

Here you can find details on who can see content items in various places in the community and which content types cannot be hidden.

Your personal content

Documents and uploaded documents
  • Description: When you publish a document as Hidden, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you.
  • Are streams updated?: You can see a stream update when you publish, but other users cannot.
  • To set the item as Personal: Before you publish the document, set its visibility to Hidden. For more information, see Creating documents for yourself
  • To find the item later: Go to Content > Authored > Documents, and then select Filter by personal content. The dark lock icon next to the document indicates it is limited to you.
External bookmarks
  • Description: Your private bookmarks are stored in your personal container and are private to you.
  • Are streams updated?: You can see a stream update when you save the bookmark, but other users cannot.
  • To set the item as Personal: Go to Pencil icon > Bookmark and paste in the external URL. Then, select Make this bookmark private and save it.
  • To find the item later: Click the Spotlight search and select Bookmarked > Show all bookmarks. In the main navigation menu, filter by External URL. The dark lock icon next to the bookmark indicates it is limited to you.
Personal tasks
  • Description: You can assign yourself personal tasks so that no one else can see them.
  • Are streams updated?: You can see a stream update when you publish, but other users cannot.
  • To set the item as Personal: Go to Pencil icon > Task and select Project > None (personal task).
  • To find the item later: Go to Actions > Tasks. In the Project menu, select Personal.

Content limited to specific people

Documents and uploaded documents
  • Description: When you publish a document limited to Specific People, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you and the other people you designated.
  • Are streams updated?: You and the other specified people see a stream update when you publish, but other users cannot.
  • To set the item as Personal: Before you publish the document, set its visibility option to Specific People.
  • To find the item later: Go to Content > Authored > Documents and then select Filter by personal content. The light lock icon next to the document indicates it is limited to you and the other people you designated.
Discussions and Questions
  • Description: When you publish a discussion or question limited to Specific People, it is stored in your personal container and is private to you and the other people you designated.
  • Are streams updated?: You and the other specified people see a stream update when you publish, but other users cannot.
  • To set the item as Personal: Before you post the discussion or question, set its visibility option to Specific People.
  • To find the item later: Go to Content > Authored > Discussions/Questions and then select Filter by personal content. The light lock icon next to the item indicates it is limited to you and the other people you designated.
Messages
  • Description: You can send one or more other users a private message.
  • Are streams updated?: Messages are listed in the Inbox. They do not appear in streams.
  • To set the item as Personal: Go to Pencil icon > Message and select the persons to whom you want to send the message.
  • To find the item later: Go to Inbox. In the Filter drop-down menu, select Messages.

Content that you cannot hide

  • Blog posts.
  • Discussions.
  • Questions.
  • Polls.
  • Status Updates. However, you can limit your status update to a group if you want to limit its audience. For more information, see Posting status update in groups
  • Projects.